On this page
- The short version
- The two contracts
- Why students want it
- The one bill alternance does not cover — and it depends on which contract you sign
- The catch: it’s a French employment contract — and the barrier is not the one you expect
- What the schools themselves publish
- Alternance vs internship vs césure
- The trade-offs
- The bottom line
- Sources & how to confirm
If you start researching French management master’s programmes, you’ll quickly run into a word that doesn’t translate cleanly into English: alternance. It’s one of the defining features of the French system — and, done right, one of the best ways to make an expensive grande école degree affordable. This guide explains what alternance actually is, how the money works, and the one big catch international students need to understand before they bank on it. (The specifics are set by French law and by each school, and they change — so treat this as the map, and confirm the current rules with the school’s alternance office.)
The short version
Alternance is France’s work-study model. Instead of studying full-time and doing a separate internship, you split your time between the business school and a host company on a fixed rhythm — commonly a few days a week, or alternating weeks or months — under a real employment contract. The defining feature, and the reason students chase it:
Under alternance, the company typically pays your tuition (through France’s apprenticeship-funding system) and pays you a monthly salary on top. You’re effectively paid to do the degree.
At many French grande école management programmes, a large share of students do their final year en alternance. It’s mainstream, not a fringe option.
The two contracts
Alternance in France runs through one of two contract types. You don’t need to memorise the legal detail, but you should know they exist, because eligibility differs:
- Contrat d’apprentissage (apprenticeship contract) — the classic route, and the one every school below runs. It is open from 16 to 29 inclusive, with a handful of statutory exceptions that push the ceiling to 34 or remove it entirely.⁹
- Contrat de professionnalisation — a work-study contract aimed more broadly at professional integration, with its own eligibility rules.
Both are governed by French regulation, and both route your tuition to the employer (via France’s mandatory training-funding bodies) rather than to you, while paying you a salary set as a percentage of the legal minimum wage — scaled by your age and year of study. The amounts and ceilings are fixed by national rules, vary, and change year to year, so don’t anchor to a number you saw in a forum: confirm the current terms with the school and the official French guidance.
Why students want it
The appeal is straightforward once you see the maths against the real cost of a MiM:
- Tuition covered. A grande école year that might otherwise cost five figures is paid by your employer.
- You earn a salary. Not a token stipend — a monthly wage for the whole contract.
- Integrated experience. You finish the degree with a year (or two) of genuine, continuous work on your CV, not just a summer internship — which recruiters value and which can convert into a full-time offer.
- It can beat a scholarship. For students who qualify, alternance often does more for affordability than the scholarships and funding routes most applicants chase first — though it’s worth knowing the full funding toolkit before you settle on one route.
It is genuinely a route, not a top-up: alternance and the Eiffel scholarship cannot coexist. Campus France excludes programmes followed under an apprenticeship or professionalisation contract from the Eiffel scholarship’s eligible programmes, and the Eiffel’s own regulations state that benefits cease automatically if a recipient signs one. So the popular “standard first year, alternance second year” pattern would end an Eiffel at the switch. That is usually still the right trade — employer-paid tuition plus a salary beats €1,200 a month — but it is a decision to make deliberately, not one to discover in your second year. (Checked against the Campus France 2026 submission guide and the programme regulations, 31 August 2026.)
The one bill alternance does not cover — and it depends on which contract you sign
“Costs you nothing” is very nearly true and not exactly true, and the gap has a number on it. Every student enrolled in initial training at a French higher-education institution owes the CVEC — the contribution de vie étudiante et de campus — which is €105 for 2026-2027.¹ It is not a tuition item, so an employer paying your tuition does not pay it. EM Strasbourg, which runs its Programme Grande École on a work–study track, states the position plainly on its own fee page: *“In the co-op track, only the CVEC remains payable by the student.”*³
Which contract you are on decides whether you owe it at all. France’s official student portal draws the line by training category:
- Contrat d’apprentissage — “Les alternants en contrat d’apprentissage (qui relève de la formation initiale) sont assujettis à la CVEC.” You pay the €105.²
- Contrat de professionnalisation — “Les alternants en contrat de professionnalisation (qui relève de la formation continue) ne sont pas concernés par la CVEC.” You owe nothing.²
That is a small sum and a useful illustration of a bigger habit: the two contracts are not interchangeable, and the differences between them show up in places nobody mentions in a brochure. Three more CVEC details worth knowing whichever route you take: it must be settled before you can complete administrative enrolment, so it is a step in your timeline and not just a cost; it is paid once per academic year even if you enrol in more than one programme; and it is not refunded if you withdraw or break off your studies during the year.¹ ² CROUS grant holders are exempt — though a CROUS grant is a French means-tested award most newly-arrived international students will not hold.¹
If your school is part of a public university rather than a private école, one more statutory charge applies on top of tuition: France’s national registration fees, €255 at master’s level for 2026-2027.⁴ Most of the well-known grandes écoles are private and set their own fees instead, so this catches fewer applicants than the CVEC does — but it is the reason a public-university figure and a private-école figure are not directly comparable.
The catch: it’s a French employment contract — and the barrier is not the one you expect
Here’s the part that trips up international applicants, and where most guides — this one included, until 7 September 2026 — name the wrong obstacle. An alternance contract is a French employment contract, so the questions are: may you legally hold one, and will a school and an employer let you?
On the legal half, a MiM is a special case, and it is the favourable one. The general rule really is that a non-EU student must already have completed a first year of study in France before signing an apprenticeship contract. But the décret n° 2021-360 of 31 March 2021 wrote an exception into article R. 5221-7 of the Code du travail, and the state’s own summary states it plainly: *“les candidats étrangers préparant une formation en alternance de niveau Master ou un diplôme de niveau I labellisé par la Conférence des grandes écoles n’ont pas obligation de justifier d’une première année d’étude en France.”*⁵ A Programme Grande École is both — a Master-level qualification and a CGE-labelled diploma — so the first-year rule does not reach it. Campus France now says the same thing in English: apprenticeships were “previously only accessible to international students who had completed a year of training in France” and are “now open to first-year students” enrolled in *“a master’s (recognized by the State) or in one of the training programs approved by the Conférence des Grandes Écoles.”*⁶
The paperwork that remains is real but ordinary, and it depends on where you are when you sign:
- Already in France on a “étudiant” permit. You are exempt from a separate work authorisation: the signed apprenticeship contract, once validated by the OPCO or the DDETS, authorises you to work for its full duration (article L. 5221-5 and R. 5221-2 of the Code du travail).⁵ It also lifts you above the 964-hour student work cap.⁶
- Not yet in France. The order reverses. You sign the contract first and produce it in support of your student-visa application, then apply for a temporary work permit on arrival.⁵ ⁶
- Algerian nationals need an autorisation provisoire de travail regardless of hours, under the Franco-Algerian agreement rather than the general student rules.⁶
- Your employer must have your residence permit authenticated by the prefecture and file a nominative hiring declaration 48 working hours before you start — a step some recruiters would rather avoid, which is a practical filter even where the law is permissive.⁵
So what actually stops most international applicants is not the visa. It is these four, in roughly this order:
- French. ESCP’s own MiM page is the bluntest: *“Apprenticeships are available for all students aged under 30. Employment must be in a company governed under French law; accordingly the students must have a sound knowledge of French.”*⁷ Its apprenticeship leaflet fixes a level — fluent French (B2/C1) — and requires the application itself to be a CV and cover letter in French.⁸ An English-taught MiM does not exempt you from the employer’s language.
- Age. The contrat d’apprentissage is for those aged 16 to 29 inclusive (“29 ans révolus”). The limit rises to 34 in named cases — preparing a higher qualification than the one you hold, a previous contract broken for reasons outside your control — and disappears for recognised disabled workers, high-level athletes and those taking over a business.⁹ ICN publishes the same rule to the day: *“moins de 30 ans (maximum 29 ans et 364 jours).”*¹⁰ For a MiM applicant with four or five years of work behind them, this is a live constraint.
- Finding the employer, by a date. Every school runs its own calendar and every school has a cut-off after which you rejoin the fee-paying track. ESCP: candidates must have signed by 15 October for the 24-month option and 15 June for the M2 one, *“failing this, they will join the classic MiM.”*⁸ EM Strasbourg gives you until roughly three months after the start of training (early December).¹¹
- A place existing at all. Two of the schools we profile cap it — emlyon lists 200 places for the 2025 intake, EDHEC 125 apprentices a year — while Grenoble states the opposite, *“accessible à toutes et tous, sans limite de place.”*¹² ¹³ ¹⁴
None of this makes alternance impossible for international students — plenty do it — but an offer of admission is not the same as an alternance place being open to you. Check the student-visa and work-rights basics too, and read our honest account of studying a master’s in France on how much French daily working life actually takes.
What the schools themselves publish
Read on each school’s own pages on 7 September 2026. Where a cell says not stated, the school does not publish the condition — that is a gap in its pages, not a permission.
| School | Which years | Who pays | Conditions the school publishes |
|---|---|---|---|
| ESCP | M1+M2 (24 months) or M2 only (12–14 months), Paris campus | ”You benefit from fee exemption and a monthly salary by your company over the full period of the contract” | Under 30 at contract start; fluent French (B2/C1); application CV + cover letter in French; non-EU: “valid residence permit or receipt of official application”; contract signed by 15 Oct / 15 Jun or you rejoin the classic MiM⁷ ⁸ |
| ESSEC | Years 2 and 3 of the Master cycle | ”Les frais de scolarité sont pris en charge par l’entreprise pendant la durée du contrat” | Under 30 at contract start; at least 3 management course units validated; non-EU: *“il peut être nécessaire d’avoir obtenu au préalable une autorisation de travail”*¹⁵ |
| EDHEC | 24 months from January of M1, Paris campus (M1 autumn is full-time in Lille) | Tuition covered “pendant toute la durée du contrat (hors premier semestre de M1)” — you still pay that first semester | 125 apprentices a year; the track is listed as English-taught; no age or language condition published on the page¹³ |
| emlyon | Final year | ”An apprenticeship student must not spend a single euro on tuition fees” | 200 places for the 2025 intake; strong academic record; eligibility confirmed in spring; no age or language condition published on the page¹² |
| Grenoble EM | M1+M2 (24-month contract) or M2 (12-month), Grenoble or Paris | ”vos frais de scolarité sont pris en charge" | "Accessible à toutes et tous, sans limite de place (sous réserve de réussir le concours et d’avoir un contrat signé)”; GEM’s own page restates the under-30 rule and its exceptions¹⁴ |
| ICN | From Year 2 of the PGE, Nancy and Paris La Défense only (Berlin runs internships instead) | “L’entreprise d’accueil prend en charge l’ensemble de vos frais de scolarité” | Under 30 (“maximum 29 ans et 364 jours”), with the statutory exceptions; non-EU students may sign only for Grande École and MSc (niveau I, CGE-labelled) diplomas — the R. 5221-7 exception, published¹⁰ |
| EM Strasbourg | PGE5 (1 year) or PGE4+PGE5 (2 years) | “In the co-op track, only the CVEC remains payable by the student” | ~700 EM Strasbourg students a year are on alternance; contract to be secured within about three months of the start of training¹¹ ³ |
| Montpellier BS | ”All or part of the curriculum, depending on the admission procedure" | "During a work-study year, the tuition fees are fully covered by the host company” | Not stated — no age, language or nationality condition on the funding page¹⁶ |
| EM Normandie | M1 and M2, three weeks in the company to one week at school | Not stated on the work-study page | Caen, Le Havre and Paris campuses; not stated otherwise¹⁷ |
| Audencia | None | — | Audencia states it twice: “the Master in Management (Grande Ecole) is not available in work-study format”, and, asked directly in its FAQ, *“No.”*¹⁸ |
| HEC Paris | None published | — | HEC’s own Fees and Financing page for the MiM lists scholarships and external funding and names no apprenticeship route at all (read 7 September 2026)¹⁹ |
Two readings of that table are worth stating. First, the conditions are the school’s, not the state’s — France sets the age limit and the immigration rules, but the French-language bar, the campus restriction, the cap and the sign-by date are each a school’s own policy, and they differ enough that “France has alternance” is not a usable sentence when you are choosing between two French schools. Second, absence is information. Audencia and HEC Paris are the two schools here that do not offer it on the MiM, and both are frequently assumed to.
Alternance vs internship vs césure
Three things that get muddled:
- Stage (internship): a fixed, time-limited placement (often a few months) under a separate internship agreement. Doesn’t normally pay your tuition.
- Césure (gap year): a year you take out between academic years to work or travel, pausing your studies — see what a césure is.
- Alternance (work-study): an ongoing employment contract that runs in parallel with your studies for a full year or two, with the company funding tuition and paying a salary throughout.
So alternance integrates work into the degree; a stage bolts a short placement on; a césure presses pause.
The trade-offs
It isn’t free in the sense of effortless. Doing a demanding management degree while holding down a real job is genuinely hard, and a year in alternance is a year you’re not spending on an international exchange or double degree, abroad, or travelling Europe. For some students that’s the right trade for a funded, experience-rich year; for others, the full-time route with a focused internship is a better fit. There’s no universally correct answer — there’s the one that matches your finances, your goals and your eligibility.
The bottom line
Alternance is France’s standout way to study a MiM while a company pays your tuition and a salary — a genuinely powerful affordability and experience lever, and a normal path at French grande école management programmes. The two things to get right: your visa status is probably not what stops you — a Master-level, CGE-labelled degree is the case French law wrote its exception for — while French at a working level, being under 30 on the day the contract starts, and landing an employer before your school’s cut-off are the conditions the schools themselves publish. And check the school, not the country: of the eleven we profile above, two do not offer it on the MiM at all. If France is on your list, it’s one of the strongest reasons to look there — start by narrowing your options on our best MiMs in France shortlist, then map your application rounds on the deadline tracker.
Sources & how to confirm
Everything in the eligibility and per-school sections is quoted from a primary source — the French state’s own texts and each school’s own pages — read on 7 September 2026. That is a change: until then this guide deliberately asserted no per-school policy and pointed readers at “official French government guidance” instead, and the one eligibility rule the site did state elsewhere (that a non-EU student must complete a year in France first) was the general rule quoted without the exception that covers exactly this degree. Salary percentages and contract terms still move each cycle, and a school can close or cap a track between intakes, so confirm with the school’s alternance office before you make a financial decision — but you should not have to guess at the conditions, and below they are named.
The CVEC section is quoted from primary sources read on 2 September 2026.
¹ CVEC — the official contribution site: “L’acquittement est actuellement possible pour l’année universitaire 2026-2027. Elle est de 105 €”, and the contribution must be obtained “préalablement à son inscription”, by payment or exemption.
² etudiant.gouv.fr — CVEC, une démarche de rentrée incontournable: the apprenticeship / professionalisation split quoted above, and the list of those “NE SONT PAS CONCERNÉES” — including “en formation continue (ce qui inclut l’alternance en contrat de professionnalisation)”.
³ EM Strasbourg Business School — Tuition and fees: “In the co-op track, only the CVEC remains payable by the student” (€105 for the 2026 intake, alongside €255 in university registration fees for full-time students). Our EM Strasbourg profile carries the full fee picture.
⁴ Service-Public.fr — Coût d’une inscription dans l’enseignement supérieur: “Frais d’inscription pour l’année 2026-2027” — master €255, licence €178 — plus the CVEC rules, including that no refund is available if you withdraw after paying.
⁵ DREETS Nouvelle-Aquitaine — Quelles sont les règles applicables concernant l’embauche d’un jeune de nationalité étrangère en contrat d’apprentissage ? (the labour ministry’s regional directorate, January 2025; 11 pages; sha256:97be2cf2a3dc729c; read 7 September 2026): the décret n° 2021-360 exception at art. R. 5221-7, the L. 5221-5 / R. 5221-2 exemption from a separate work authorisation for holders of a “étudiant” permit, the reversed order of steps for a student not yet in France, and the employer’s 48-working-hour nominative declaration under R. 5221-27.
⁶ Campus France — Working as a student (read 7 September 2026): the 964-hour cap; apprenticeships “previously only accessible to international students who had completed a year of training in France” and “now open to first-year students” on a state-recognised master’s or a Conférence des Grandes Écoles programme; the temporary work permit on arrival; and the Algerian autorisation provisoire de travail regardless of hours.
⁷ ESCP Business School — Master in Management (read 7 September 2026): “You can apply to the Apprenticeship Track of the Master in Management programme if you are studying at the Paris campus”; “Apprenticeships are available to students aged under 30 when they start to work and who are fluent in French”; “Employment must be in a company governed under French law; accordingly the students must have a sound knowledge of French”; “Over 200 student apprentices participate each year in one of the two Apprenticeship options of the MiM (24 months or 12-14 months)”; “You benefit from fee exemption and a monthly salary by your company over the full period of the contract.”
⁸ ESCP Business School — Apprenticeships at ESCP (the school’s own leaflet, edition marked Year 2024-2025; 6 pages; sha256:49968a19e0bd9b3b; read 7 September 2026): the two options and their eligibility lists — “Be under 30 years of age on the contract start date”, “Fluent French (B2/C1)”, “For international students (from outside the EU): valid residence permit or receipt of official application”, “Application form CV + cover letter in French” — and the sign-by dates, after which “they will join the classic MiM on one of the ESCP campuses depending on the number of places available.” This is the most recent edition ESCP publishes at that address; the live programme page (⁷) carries the same age and language conditions, so the dated leaflet is used only for the detail the live page omits.
⁹ Service-Public.gouv.fr — Contrat d’apprentissage (read 7 September 2026): apprentices must be at least 16 (15 after completing 3e), and the upper limit is 29 ans révolus, rising to 35 for those preparing a higher qualification or whose previous contract was broken for reasons outside their control, and disappearing for recognised disabled workers, those creating or taking over a business needing the diploma, and registered high-level athletes.
¹⁰ ICN Business School — Apprentissage (read 7 September 2026): the eligible programmes including “2ème année du Programme Grande École (Bac +5)”; “L’entreprise d’accueil prend en charge l’ensemble de vos frais de scolarité”; the under-30 rule as “maximum 29 ans et 364 jours” with its exceptions; the EU/EEA identity-document rule and the non-EU restriction to Grande École and MSc (niveau I, CGE-labelled) diplomas; and the Paris La Défense and Nancy ARTEM campuses, Berlin offering alternating internships instead. Cross-checked against ICN’s English programme page: “For students on the apprenticeship pathway, available from Year 2 onwards, tuition fees are covered by your host company.”
¹¹ EM Strasbourg Business School — Choisir l’alternance (read 7 September 2026): the parcours flexibilité (PGE5, one year) and parcours immersif (PGE4+PGE5, two years); “Bénéficiez d’une prise en charge totale des frais de scolarité par l’entreprise d’accueil”; and the roughly three-month window (to early December) to secure a contract.
¹² emlyon business school — Programme Grande École, work-study (read 7 September 2026): “Employment law stipulates that an apprenticeship student must not spend a single euro on tuition fees. The employer who signs the apprenticeship contract will cover these costs and pay you a salary”, and “For the start of the 2025 academic year, there are 200 places available.”
¹³ EDHEC Business School — Parcours Apprentissage (read 7 September 2026): 24 months on the Paris campus after a full-time autumn semester in Lille; “125 apprentis par an”; language listed as Anglais; and “Des frais de scolarité pris en charge pendant toute la durée du contrat (hors premier semestre de M1).”
¹⁴ Grenoble Ecole de Management — Programme Grande École and Découvrir l’apprentissage (both read 7 September 2026; the second updated 07/04/2026): “À GEM, l’alternance est possible : en M1+M2 (pour un contrat de 24 mois), en M2 (contrat de 12 mois)”; “Elle est accessible à toutes et tous, sans limite de place (sous réserve de réussir le concours et d’avoir un contrat signé)”; the Grenoble-or-Paris choice; and “Pour en bénéficier le futur apprenti doit avoir moins de 30 ans à la signature du contrat.”
¹⁵ ESSEC Business School — CFA, Apprentissage et MiM Grande Ecole (read 7 September 2026): “Avoir moins de 30 ans à la date de début du contrat”; “Avoir validé ou être en cours de validation de minimum 3 UV de gestion (hors cours de langue)”; the 2nd and 3rd years of the Master cycle; “Pour les étudiants internationaux (hors UE), il peut être nécessaire d’avoir obtenu au préalable une autorisation de travail”; and “Les frais de scolarité sont pris en charge par l’entreprise pendant la durée du contrat.”
¹⁶ Montpellier Business School — Funding the Grande Ecole Programme (read 7 September 2026): “During a work-study year, the tuition fees are fully covered by the host company”, the student “also receives a salary”, and work-study offered “for all or part of the curriculum, depending on the admission procedure”. No age, language or nationality condition appears on the page.
¹⁷ EM Normandie — Work-study track, Master in Management (read 7 September 2026): M1 and M2, “75% of the year in a company, i.e. 3 weeks per month in a company”, on the Caen, Le Havre and Paris campuses. The page states no tuition-coverage, age or language condition.
¹⁸ Audencia Business School — Scholarships and funding (read 7 September 2026, confirming the 7 September reading behind our Audencia profile): “the Master in Management (Grande Ecole) is not available in work-study format”, and the FAQ answer “No. However, several MSc and Mastère Spécialisé programmes at Audencia are available in apprentissage.”
¹⁹ HEC Paris — Master in Management, Fees and Financing (read 7 September 2026): the page sets out the fee schedule and names two financing routes — HEC Paris scholarships and external funding — and contains no mention of apprenticeship, alternance or a work-study contract. Recorded as a re-tested negative: an absence on the programme’s own financing page, not a statement by the school that the route does not exist.
Eligibility and per-school detail last checked 7 September 2026; the CVEC section 2 September 2026.